Friendship?

What does it take to determine a friend?
This is me asking a serious question. I’ve sat down and I’ve looked at the list of those that I consider real friends, and those that I consider to be nothing more than acquaintances. My system of considering friendships doesn’t feel as humane as I believe it should. A friend is someone that’s there for you, regardless of consequences or achievements, right? I’m completely blind when it comes to that state of mind. That may be why I’m at where I am now, memory problems and the like. I talk to people, strangers, acquaintances, and friends alike. I don’t talk much in public anymore for… reasons. Personal ones. Being around too many people at once can be a problem, as well.
I hear people say that beyond a certain age, you should be able to cope and deal with anything, and I am here to inform you that this is not the case. People use psychological terms as a weapon of choice in social warfare nowadays with no real understanding of the meaning. Whatever happened to the time where you could just simply hang out with friends and acquaintances and not have to worry about being hurt by some megalomaniac? To be able to do something fun? The digital era has brought a rather dark, or should I say malignant? strain of issues along with it.

I ask you again, what does it take to determine a friend?

5 thoughts on “Friendship?

  1. Asariels Muse

    A friend is someone who knows where the bodies are buried. A best friend helps you hide them. ;p

    Like

    Reply
  2. Asariels Muse

    They’re only quotes but they’re of the right sentiment. In short when your life goes to doom and gloom your real friends are the ones that are still around.

    Like

    Reply
  3. zydanezra Post author

    I have a few people that are sticking with me through the bad times. It’s a nice feeling to know that someone cares enough to do so.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

