An Angelic Chorus

I lost my way some time ago
In the afterthoughts of rage
The memories I have of you
Do no justice or stop the pain

For many years I’ve wondered
If it was all but a simple dream
Where the clouds don’t change shape
And the Gods never did leave

I closed off that part of my heart
Locked the door and lost the key
When this time of year comes around
All my happiness recedes

That’s not to say I don’t miss you
Or the others who came with
It’s just that I can’t handle
All the misplaced love and wondrous bliss

If I had a chance to see you again
I’d open up the gates
Run out to you with open arms
A group hug would starve the rage

Only in the afterlife can you hear the words I say
I just wanted to let you know that I will love you all, always.

One thought on “An Angelic Chorus

Leave a Reply

