Individual Happiness.

The potential for forgiveness is always there, it just takes time for adjustment most often than that. People aren’t accustomed to changes that don’t line up with their inclinations, especially those that are more inclined towards religion and its negative aspects.
2005-06 was a blur for me, mostly because all I recall is my Mum and Da getting into a fight with me because of my not meeting their expectations. When I say ‘expectations’ I mean that I didn’t want to do what they wanted me to do, nor was I ever (and I still am not) planning on getting married to a male/female/tree/whatever. From there, we didn’t talk for over a 5 year period, and it was all due to the fact that I wasn’t who they wanted me to be. Things settled, and I ended up making changes that led to me wanting to further my education again, and if I didn’t make the call I did WHEN I did, I wouldn’t be attending college for free today. We reconciled after a good week of consistent talking, and while it was a rocky return to living with them (we argued a lot and it got especially bad when I tore my rotator cuff), things are pretty good between us.
Unless your parents are selfish/psychopaths, I don’t see any reason why they wouldn’t accept you as you are, even if it takes some time. They should hopefully realise that they are not you, and your sexuality doesn’t affect them in any way whatsoever because each person has their own life to live.
Individual happiness should not be relative to familial happiness.

Leave a Reply

